top of page

Upcoming Plans for 2021!


East Pecos Baldy overlooks

Pecos Baldy Lake last fall.


First of all, I would like to thank all the people who have watched my videos on my Pecos Wilderness Series last year. It seemed to be my most popular and steady viewership of my YouTube channel to date. I am also sorry that I took such a long break over the winter. However, it gave me time to put my YouTube channel goals into perspective. I was going to start a product review series, and maybe do some winter camping just to keep pumping out videos. I soon realized that I needed to be home for my family during these unusual times. Being home gave me time to think. The more I thought about it, the more I realized that I do not want to be a salesman for other people or corporations. I want to make videos as a creative outlet. At least for the time being, I will no longer do product reviews. It's not that they are hard. In fact, it's the opposite...they're easy. I just don't want my channel to become a commercial. So, here's the plan for 2021.


I will continue and hopefully finish my video series on the Pecos Wilderness, and I'd like to finish the corresponding book this winter. In the month of May I will do a four day trip to Sierra Mosca and explore the center of the area some call the Borrego Triangle. Next, I will do a day hike that I call the upper Rio Nambe Loop. In early June, I will take my son and do a hike to Joe Vigil Lake and the Dome. After these three hikes, I will take a break from the Pecos Wilderness and go North.


On Father's Day, Sunday June 20th, my son and I will arrive at Waterton Canyon near Denver and begin the Colorado Trail. I will hike 486 miles from Denver to Durango. My son will accompany me on at least half the trip. We'll start slow and average about 10 miles a day for the first couple of weeks, and then we'll turn on the afterburners and try to make some miles. I'm hoping to see Bighorn Sheep, Black Bears, Moose, and Mountain Goats as well as a myriad of wildflowers. This is what I'm doing with the money that I was going to use for the Appalachian Trail last year, but I was never able to do it, and I don't have the time I need to do it this year. So, the Colorado Trail it is! I'm still on the fence about weather or not to vlog the hike or just save my video files to the cloud and make a movie after the hike. I probably won't know until I'm on trail. It should be an awesome adventure.


In August, when I'm done with the Colorado trail, I will be back in the pecos wilderness for at least three more hikes before the end of October. I think the first will be the Divide National Recreation Trail. Next, I will be exploring the East Side Lakes. Finally, I will finish the series with the best and longest trail in the Pecos, the Skyline Trail. It's going to be a heckuva lot of hiking, but it'll be a great year. I hope that you'll join me for the entire set of adventures. Wish me luck!

Comments


bottom of page