top of page

Oregon Coast Trail - Whaleshead Beach to Indian Sands\


Happy New Year everyone! My latest video shows a small section of the almost 400 mile long Oregon Coast Trail (OCT). Here you will see magnificent views of the ocean from the forested headland far above. This section is in the Samuel H. Boardman Scenic Corridor administered by the Oregon State Parks. It is great for a short little day hike. It is a well maintained trail, but difficult in places due to steep trail and switchbacks. If you need more information, you may go to https://stateparks.oregon.gov/.


My plans for the upcoming year are as follows. I would like to copy what I have completed of my Pecos Wilderness Hiking Guidebook onto my web site. Unfortunately due to the Hermits Peak Fire, I was not able to complete all the trips necessary to finish the book, but I would like to post what I've completed. I think it would help tremendously with trip planning for people who want to visit that area. Next, I will continue with coastal hike and beaches day hiking series until around June. At that time, I would like to start a backpacking series in the nearby Siskiyou Wilderness. I hope to document every trail possible and then write a book about it next winter. Eventually, I will want to begin creation of another video series of the Redwood National and State Parks starting with Jedidiah Smith State Park. However, there are already many books on this area, so I will not be writing a hiking guide for that. Other potential trips that I'd like to make are in the Kalmiopsis Wilderness, the Marble Mountain Wilderness, the Russian Wilderness and maybe even the Trinity Alps. So keep checking back, and we'll enjoy the best the outdoors have to offer together!


Comments


bottom of page