top of page

My Trip To Maine


I must apologize that I have not posted a video in over six months. I must let you know that I was not myself. I was a bit depressed. The depression stemmed from failing to finish my goal of hiking the entire Colorado Trail the year before, and from the fact that the Pecos Wilderness was burning up. What's even worse is that an organization that I tried to support, The Santa Fe National Forest, was responsible for the fire. Not only did a significant portion of the Pecos Wilderness burn, but 400+ homes outside the wilderness burned as well. I am a former Forester, and I know what the forest service is trying to do, but the way they do it is wrong. Now, I no longer support controlled burns on national forest land unless the area has been thinned of ladder fuels first. And furthermore, I do not support any controlled burns in New Mexico in Late March through July (the windy season). Again, I am sorry for the lack of productivity on my channel, but here is the story behind making this new content.


My wife and I decided to use the rest of my AT money that I had saved to go to Maine. We wanted to see if we enjoyed the food, the people, and the natural beauty of New England. We are even considering moving there as I am very allergic to Juniper, a common tree species here in Santa Fe. Also, I would like to own some of my own land, even if it's just a couple of acres. We noticed on Zillow, that for the price of our home here, we could afford and nicer home and land up there. So, we decided to go to Maine on a scouting mission of sorts to see if we like it... and we did. It will probably be a couple years from now, but I think we will pull up steaks and move eventually. Anyway, to make a long story short, this video documents what we did when we were up there, and is more in the travel genre than my usual hiking videos. But, that's not the only change happening with my channel either.


I changed the name of my YouTube channel to Star Mountain Hikes. It is just way shorter than Star Mountain Outdoors and Bushcraft, and it more accurately describes my recent content. Well, I think that about covers everything that's going on here. I hope that everyone enjoys the video. Thanks for checking in, and I'll see you on the next vlog post.


Comments


bottom of page